Update V8 to V9 Problems is there a How to on the new update-able theme

WordPress Business Themes Forums Responsive Themes Directory Theme Update V8 to V9 Problems is there a How to on the new update-able theme

Discontinued - The forum content is out of date. For theme support please use our support desk here.

Update V8 to V9 Problems is there a How to on the new update-able theme

March 26, 2019
 Mitchell

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    The New V9 theme can update the v8 theme.
    Is there a How to step by step on how to do this?

    My problem 1/2 the images are not showing. None of the images on the home page is showing.
    I’m sure there is other problems.
    I took the website form the original domain and converted it to a new domain that I use for testing and development. Then did the update as instructed by hitting enter on the settings page.
    the URL of the test site is 3aliens.net
    original site is hamradiostop.com

    Mitch

    March 26, 2019 at 1:07 pm
  • JamesD
    JamesD
    Super Guru 1,351 points

    Hello Mitchell,
    I do see an error being thrown by the W3 Total Cache plugin, but not sure if it’s related or not. (referring to the 3aliens.net site)
    Have you tried to disable the W3 Total Cache plugin and check?

    March 27, 2019 at 11:58 pm
  • JamesD
    JamesD
    Super Guru 1,351 points

    If it helps, this is what is seen.

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    March 28, 2019 at 12:03 am

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    Thanks @JamesD
    I disabled all unneeded plugins and put true on debug.
    Got this on top now
    Notice: Undefined index: s in /home/aliens/public_html/wp-content/themes/DT9/framework/new_class/ppt_core.php on line 18

    Notice: Undefined index: s in /home/aliens/public_html/wp-content/themes/DT9/framework/new_class/ppt_core.php on line 18

    still not showing all images

    April 1, 2019 at 3:51 pm

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    And Yes Just tried new Download as of March 31st, 2019 same problem

    April 1, 2019 at 5:28 pm
  • Marie
    Marie
    Super Guru 1,747 points

    hi Mitchell

    what specific version are you using in version 8 before you upgraded to version 9?

    coz if you’re using version 8.9.7 , the images will display fine in version 9

    April 2, 2019 at 8:46 am

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    Did a New install on my test domain and same results before converting. I think it may have to do with the way The theme uses images (this is a Guess)
    Or the way I moved the site over I copied the files to the new domain and used Find and Replace with the two domains hamradiostop.com and replaced it with 3aliens.net.
    All other times I have done that with other sites it went fine.

    I even tried the plugin from wpMUDEV and it never completed and backupbuddy that would not transfer the database always gave a 500 error.

    Scratching my head
    Mitch

    April 8, 2019 at 12:08 am
  • Marie
    Marie
    Super Guru 1,747 points

    hi Mitch,

    how about this:

    1. Clone your site ( version 8.9.7 install )
    2. make sure everything is working to your cloned site.
    3. Install version 9
    4. Activate it.

    see if it works.

    if you’re still having issues, please use the chat support so we can assist you

    April 8, 2019 at 8:10 am

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    Problem is not the upgrade its before I even upgrade 1/2 the images in the library is a gray Icon and not showing on the front end. I verified the images are there I verified that changing the permissions to 755 does nothing. I loaded the images with the browser and they show fine.

    Also just noticed today the website URL is not present (blank) on the same listings that the images are not showing

    Mitch

    April 8, 2019 at 1:45 pm
  • Marie
    Marie
    Super Guru 1,747 points

    hi Mitch,

    did you recently updated your wordpress version?

    I remember ever since version 5 was released, the URL field from the images are blank,

    April 9, 2019 at 3:37 am

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    Not recently when V5 came out that night then the update. I just noticed after transferring the site to the test domain.
    the original site is all good.

    Mitch

    April 9, 2019 at 7:24 am
  • Alex Morgan
    Alex Morgan
    Super Guru 1,110 points

    hi Mitch,

    it might just be your wordpress settings

    April 9, 2019 at 11:11 am

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    It was fine until I renamed the hamradiostop.com to 3aliens.net (test Domain)

    Mitch

    April 10, 2019 at 1:24 pm
  • Adnan
    Adnan
    Elite Member 441 points

    Hi MItch,

    I don’t know if this is the case, but replacing the domain only does not work well.

    Be aware that serialized entries in the database will have problem with that. You need to do database wide search/replace actions with tools which don’t damage PHP serialized strings or objects.

    April 10, 2019 at 6:48 pm

  • Mitchell
    Senior Member 136 points

    Figured that was what was doing it but I couldn’t think of the name of what was being messed up. I’m now on my hamradiostop.com site now (main Site) installed on that updated to v9 all so far is good as long as I get the other 2 posts answered It will be perfect.

    thank you
    mitch

    April 10, 2019 at 9:16 pm
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)

Didn't find what you were after?

Chat with us now

or contact our support team