JANUARY SALE: Directory Theme Now Only $49 -- Learn More

Ask the community

This is a community support forum where you can ask
questions and interact with other PremiumPress Customers.

double menus?

  • Stephen
    Stephen
    Senior Member 111 points
    August 6, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks guys.. I will give it a try..

    Cheers

  • Regardt
    Regardt
    Newbie 9 points
    August 8, 2014 at 8:58 am

    I have a mobile menu at the bottom of my page and I have no idea how to fix it.

    Link to the site : http://beta.koopkarre.co.za Picture is also attached.

    I prefer the mobile menu at the bottom because of the built in search function. Any way to implement only that menu and at the top of the page?

    Thanks in advance for anyone that can help out.

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 9, 2014 at 1:29 am

    @Mark – I am not sure but there is something wrong here.

    There should not be two menus in my system when viewing on a phone and the code that was suggested above will not work as it will remove all menus from the system when viewing on a tablet.

    Please goto my test site on a desktop, phone and tablet – I am using “http://mobiletest.me/” to test my layouts. http://dev.garrettmapping.com/

    You will see on a phone like the HTC One etc that there are clearly two menu systems – with that said I do have two menus 1. a Main Menu set as the “Main Navigation” menu and 2. a Mobile Menu set as the “Mobile Device Navigation”.

    There is absolutely NO reason for two menus to be showing up on a phone, space is already limited.

    What is going on with this menu structure?

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 10, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    OK let me ask the question differently – what is the point of a mobile menu when you will always get the main menu on a phone/tablet? Why two menus?

  • JamesD
    JamesD
    Super Guru 1,369 points
    August 12, 2014 at 12:34 am

    Hi Jeffrey,

    Have you already reviewed/adjusted the Menu settings under “Appearance >> Menus”?
    (under the WordPress sidebar menu)

  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 12, 2014 at 12:35 am

    Yes

  • JamesD
    JamesD
    Super Guru 1,369 points
    August 12, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Sorry about that, missed the screenshots.

    What are the rest of your settings for the “Main” menu? the screenshot only shows the top portion.

    Also, I noticed that the “Main” menu doesn’t appear when viewing the device horizontally (for what it’s worth).

  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 12, 2014 at 12:55 am

    The main menu is setup properly. Also the reason why the menu doesn’t show is because of the CSS code mentioned on the first page of the thread. Hence my concern that you can’t use that code and back to my frustration with having a double menu if you try to set a mobile menu for mobile navigation.

  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 13, 2014 at 1:38 am

    So what is everyone doing with their sites if they have two menus?

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,899 points
    August 13, 2014 at 2:03 am

    Jeffrey you wouldn’t have double menus if you disable your mobile menu.

    The main menu will resize so if your using the main menu this will be enough for you.

    The mobile menu stays at the top so for users with long pages this extra menu is ideal for them.

  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 13, 2014 at 2:27 am

    Thanks mark but I was under the impression that the mobile menu could be used to limit the entries when you have large menus on a desktop view.

    Please take a look at the two menus that I have and you will see why I want a mobile only menu as my desktopenu is too large for a mobile view.

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,899 points
    August 13, 2014 at 2:34 am

    three is two options here

    1. use CSS to hide the main menu on the mobile view

    2. i could add an option into an upcoming update which hides the main menu in mobile view (basically doing the above)

    3. i could add an option which places the mobile menu into the menu menu on mobile view and hides the sticky menu. (many people might not want this though so it would be on/off)

  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 13, 2014 at 2:37 am

    Thank you again one thing I noted with the CSS code offered up earlier in this thread, it removed the main menu in mobile but it also removed it on tablets and that is when the mobile menu disappeared as well leaving me with NO menu which is not what I want either.

    #core_smallmenu {display: none;}

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,899 points
    August 13, 2014 at 3:00 am

    you should use;

    @media (min-width: 0px) and (max-width: 400px) {
    #core_smallmenu {display: none;}
    }

  • Jeffrey
    Jeffrey
    Senior Member 231 points
    August 13, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks again Mark, that bit of code seems to do what I need. I can’t thank you (and your team) and other forum members here enough for all the help…

Viewing 15 posts - 16 through 30 (of 31 total)