JANUARY SALE: Directory Theme Now Only $49 -- Learn More

Ask the community

This is a community support forum where you can ask
questions and interact with other PremiumPress Customers.

Migrating from v7 theme to Responsive theme

  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 24, 2016 at 9:56 am

    Hi Guys,

    I am using v7.1.4 theme and want to migrate to new Responsive theme. Can anyone (who has done it before) guide me with it. What are the challenges with it? Any risks involved? any step by step guide available for it?

    Regards,
    Ankur


  • Josh
    Super Guru 13,885 points
    July 25, 2016 at 1:19 pm

    Hello Ankur,

    ***Steps to transfer from non-responsive theme to responsive theme:

    1. Please make a backup for your site database and files.
    2. Please download the responsive theme and install it to your site.
    3. Activate the theme.
    4. Please change the Permalinks to default/Plain.
    5. Please download the PremiumPress Non-Responsive – Responsive Import Tool >>http://www.premiumpress.com/plugin/premiumpress-transfer-tool/
    6. Install and Activate the plugin
    7. After that please go Theme Options > Premiumpress tab/Overview.
    8. You can then transfer the old data listings to your new theme.
    9. Setup your new theme options
    10. done

    This reply was awarded the best answer by the topic poster.
  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 25, 2016 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks Josh for the detailed instructions.

    One question regarding step# 4. I recently for SEO done for my website. If i make the changes to permalinks, will it affect the work done for the SEO? Do you know if there is a quick fix to it?


  • Josh
    Super Guru 13,885 points
    July 26, 2016 at 8:20 am

    Hello Ankurpreet,
    The 2 themes have different designs hence your SEO might be affected

  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 26, 2016 at 8:47 am

    Such a bad move by me then. I got my SEO done just now. :(

  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 26, 2016 at 8:51 am

    So question here is that after Step 10, can i change the permalinks back to what it was earlier. Will that work?


  • Josh
    Super Guru 13,885 points
    July 26, 2016 at 1:11 pm

    Yes you can change permalink to what you want

  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 27, 2016 at 6:02 pm

    I have around 2000 posts. How much time does this migration take? Is there anything else, i will have to do after these 10 steps or it will be all back as earlier?


  • Josh
    Super Guru 13,885 points
    July 28, 2016 at 11:42 am

    Hello Ankur,
    Please follow the steps I provide above.Nothing more

    ***Steps to transfer from non-responsive theme to responsive theme:

    1. Please make a backup for your site database and files.
    2. Please download the responsive theme and install it to your site.
    3. Activate the theme.
    4. Please change the Permalinks to default/Plain.
    5. Please download the PremiumPress Non-Responsive – Responsive Import Tool >>http://www.premiumpress.com/plugin/premiumpress-transfer-tool/
    6. Install and Activate the plugin
    7. After that please go Theme Options > Premiumpress tab/Overview.
    8. You can then transfer the old data listings to your new theme.
    9. Setup your new theme options
    10. done

  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 28, 2016 at 8:09 pm

    I have done all the steps as per the instructions and the website is up now – http://www.couponsmafia.com.

    After doing all the above steps, i changed permalinks back to :
    http://www.couponsmafia.com/sample-post/

    Now my deals urls are shown like this:
    http://www.couponsmafia.com/?couponid=602677#itemid602677

    Is there anyway to change them back to what they were earlier in old version of theme? Or any other way to get the post title or category or something relevant in urls which is better for SEO. I am worried that the recent work that i got done for SEO will be lost.


  • Josh
    Super Guru 13,885 points
    July 28, 2016 at 8:28 pm

    Please go to Settings >Permalinks and select the option ‘Post name’

  • Ankurpreet
    Ankurpreet
    Newbie 45 points
    July 29, 2016 at 6:22 am

    I have selected that option only. See the attached screenshot.

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)