Ask the community

This is a community support forum where you can ask
questions and interact with other PremiumPress Customers.

Internal Server Error

  • Narender Kumar
    Narender Kumar
    Senior Member 273 points
    July 9, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Hi ,

    For a couple of days a see a lot of this message when I navigate from one page to another in the wordpress dashboard as well as in the live site. I had contacted the hosting service but they are unable to provide a solution. I am unable to understand whether it is the speed issue or a plugin issue or a theme issue. This site is just 18 days old and not much plugins are installed. Kindly see if you too see the same problem. The link is http://www.mahabgarh.com

    I have a guess the theme is responsible. It is very irritating

    Internal Server Error

    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

    Please contact the server administrator and inform them of the time the error occurred, and the actions you performed just before this error.

    More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

    Apache Server at mahabgarh.com Port 80

    Kind Regards,

    Narender

  • Shakib
    Shakib
    Newbie 41 points
    July 9, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Hi,
    this could the cause of so many things.

    to start do one of the following:
    – check if there is a htaccess file in the root (if its configured correct)
    – through the ftp delete or rename some of the plugin folders to test if that is causing it
    – your http://mahabgarh.com/wp-login is accessible so I suspect a plugin or htaccess file

    also at this moment your website is coming on well but not with pp theme, correct?

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • David Harris
    David Harris
    Senior Member 367 points
    July 9, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Not related Narender but your background is way too big :)

    Try this one…

    http://postimg.org/image/rd3g6lh99/full/

    What size screen do you have?


  • Luhan Waththa
    Senior Member 161 points
    July 9, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    Other possibilities are

    – Your website/script over usage of allocated memory.
    fix: allow 258MB or more memory

    – After you reach that threshold several time, your host automatic security scripts are block your website giving the 500 error message. (This is common in the shared hosting servers )
    fix: ask it from your server guys and use dedicated server with more resource.

    Lu.

  • Narender Kumar
    Narender Kumar
    Senior Member 273 points
    July 9, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    @ Shakib . It means the theme is not to blame. I will just check the files and revert soon. Can you pls explain what do you mean by this.

    your http://mahabgarh.com/wp-login is accessible so I suspect a plugin or htaccess file.
    What should I do

    @ David , I have uploaded a image through the appearance>background
    The size of the image is 3264X2448 px.
    Just checked the screen resolution . It is 1280X800. Should I resize the image and upload.
    @ Saman , How can I do That. A long way to go to learn.

    Regards,

  • David Harris
    David Harris
    Senior Member 367 points
    July 9, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Yes that’s the way, but use the one I put on postimage just right click and save as…. Its your image I just resized it to 1920*1080 for you.

    As mentioned your internal 500 error maybe .htaccess related.

  • Narender Kumar
    Narender Kumar
    Senior Member 273 points
    July 9, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Thanks a lot David. I will revert after checking the .htaccess.

    Regards,

  • Narender Kumar
    Narender Kumar
    Senior Member 273 points
    July 9, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Hi Shakib,

    I have a .htaccess file in the web root which looks like this screenshot 7. Is it correct.

    @ David , I have uploaded the new background image provided by you. site is loading fast now. One more thing could you pls mind explaning how you took the screenshot of the background. I have been playing around with postimage.org for last two hours but unable to find it. opened an account , uploaded an image but can’t see my saved image. It is a good image resize tool.

    Regards,

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • David Harris
    David Harris
    Senior Member 367 points
    July 9, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    You still have your old one by the looks. I just downloaded your bg, then re-sized it in photoshop then put it on postimage for you to get, the image is too big to put here.

  • Narender Kumar
    Narender Kumar
    Senior Member 273 points
    July 9, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I have uploaded the same one you provided me 1920X1080. Which tool you are using for downloading the BG.

  • David Harris
    David Harris
    Senior Member 367 points
    July 9, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Right click, view bg image in FF then save :)

    I can see it now, must be my cache.

  • Shakib
    Shakib
    Newbie 41 points
    July 9, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Hi,
    try to rename the htaccess file temporarily to something else or download a copy of it and delete it from your root directory.

  • Jean-Francois
    Jean-Francois
    Newbie 53 points
    July 16, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Internal Server Error
    Can be related to spammers, too !

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,878 points
    July 17, 2013 at 2:34 am

    thansk for your feedback

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)