Ask the community

This is a community support forum where you can ask
questions and interact with other PremiumPress Customers.

Listing Custom Field Links are Wrong in Details Tab

  • Adam
    Adam
    Senior Member 142 points
    July 28, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    I have 4 custom fields created with a database key of “url”. I just created a listing as a new user where I have made only 2 of these fields available during listing creation. I entered a url of “http://example.com”.

    When viewing the listing, under the “Details” tab, I see all 4 custom fields, each with a link to “Visit Link Here”. I should only see 2.

    Also, they ALL link to the same url.

    What’s going on?

    I suspect that the database keys can’t all be “url” as I have them now, but would that explain the showing of all 4 fields as opposed to just the 2 I intend to show?

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,845 points
    August 5, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    all databse keys need to be unique, so ensure each is unique and not used already by something else.

  • Adam
    Adam
    Senior Member 142 points
    August 5, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    I have made the database keys unique and the issue is solved:)

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,845 points
    August 5, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    :)

  • Arlindo
    Arlindo
    Newbie 10 points
    August 5, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    In which table in the database I create โ“

  • Adam
    Adam
    Senior Member 142 points
    August 5, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Look in the theme options—>Listing Setup—>Custom Fields. When you create a custom field, you assign it a database key (Db Key).

    So, when I create custom fields for Twitter, facebook, website links I created a unique key for each one like this:

    Twitter = twitter_url
    FB = facebook_url
    Website = website_url

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,845 points
    August 6, 2013 at 3:11 am

    thanks for helping Adam

  • Arlindo
    Arlindo
    Newbie 10 points
    August 6, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Great, What are the key existing Db โ“

  • Adam
    Adam
    Senior Member 142 points
    August 6, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    Arlindo, I don’t understand what you’re asking. Can you please rephrase your question?

  • Arlindo
    Arlindo
    Newbie 10 points
    August 6, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    Sorry, I’m using google translator…

    Trying to correct the sentence: What are the existing terms for DB Key? When I put ‘price’ field appeared in the demo site!

    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • Adam
    Adam
    Senior Member 142 points
    August 6, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Hi Arlindo,

    From what I understand, this is what is supposed to happen. When you create a custom field, it’s supposed to be displayed on the listing details for users to fill out when creating a listing.

    When they fill in the content of that custom field and save the listing, it will show to the public.

    Are you trying to set the price for your listing package? If so, that is done in the “Listing Packages” tab, not the custom fields tab.

  • Arlindo
    Arlindo
    Newbie 10 points
    August 7, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    The field has managed to fix the price, I thought there was a pre-defined list of Db Key. ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Mark Fail
    Mark Fail
    Super Guru 12,845 points
    August 7, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    :)

  • Sandra
    Sandra
    Senior Member 265 points
    April 27, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks Adam.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)