Adding an Object to the Page Editor in Child Theme

• David
    Newbie 21 points
    August 9, 2016 at 2:17 pm

background:
    Okay I admit that I have limited knowledge on this subject but I am interested in learning more. SO I noticed that in the Page Builder ( the interface that allows you to add Sliders, Header, Search, ect… ) to a page that there are objects that can be added and I wondered if these Page objects are the same objects in the frameworks directory within the core theme ( using directorypress here ).

question:
    Can I use the hooks and filters in my child theme’s functions.php to add objects, i.e. modify the Search object so I can modify the input field types. Can I also create new objects that I can select to use on the page builder interface? Mostly to just rearrange html structure.

• Josh
    Super Guru 13,875 points
    August 9, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Hello David,
    The objects in core files are for the Old Home page Editor (Design Setup >Old Home Page Editor)
    With coding skills you can add more features/objects to the Page Builder and use hooks and filters too ie you need some customization to add more objects/features

This reply was awarded the best answer by the topic poster.

• David
    Newbie 21 points
    August 10, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Okay thank you, but to do so would be through the editing the Page Builder plugin and not through the DirectoryPress theme itself?

• Marie
    Marie
    Super Guru 1,818 points
    August 11, 2016 at 3:56 am

hi David,

You have to edit the Page builder plugin not the theme.

• Josh
    Super Guru 13,875 points
    August 11, 2016 at 11:10 am

Hello David,
    To edit old homepage editor edit theme core files to edit Page Builder edit plugin files like Marie mentioned above

• David
    Newbie 21 points
    August 11, 2016 at 7:58 pm